HC Deb 23 March 2004 vol 419 c768W
Mr. Truswell

To ask the Deputy Prime Minister if he will list all local authorities, broken down by(a) type and (b) party political control. [156995]

Phil Hope

The information is as follows:

Local Authorities
County Councils 134
London Boroughs 233
Metropolitan District 36
District Councils 238
Shire Unitary authorities 346
Isles of Scilly 1
Total (England) 388
Wales4 22
Scotland4 29
Island councils 3
Northern Ireland 26
1 Not including Isle of Wight unitary county
2 Includes City of London
3 Including Isle of Wight
4 Unitary districts

The Office of the Deputy Prime Minister does not systematically collect and maintain comprehensive and up-to-date information on changes in the party political control in individual local authorities.

Back to