HC Deb 23 April 2004 vol 420 c703W
Ann Winterton

To ask the Secretary of State for Education and Skills how many local learning and skills councils there are in(a) the North West Region, (b) the North East Region and (c) Yorkshire and the Humber Region; and how many board members there are on each council. [167339]

Alan Johnson

Each local Learning and Skills Council must have a minimum of 12 and a maximum of 16 members, including the Chair and Executive Director, who understand the needs of their communities. The information requested is provided in the following table:

Region/Local LSC Membership (at 20 April 2004)
North West
Cheshire and Warrington 14
Cumbria 16
Greater Manchester 13
Greater Merseyside 16
Lancashire 14
North East
County Durham 14
Northumberland 14
Tees Valley 12
Tyne and Wear 14
Yorkshire and The Humber
Humberside 13
North Yorkshire 16
South Yorkshire 14
West Yorkshire 14