HL Deb 04 November 2003 vol 654 cc88-9WA
Lord Laird

asked Her Majesty's Government:

Who are the Commissioners for Employment Tribunals in Northern Ireland; what is their remuneration; and how are they appointed; and by whom. [HL4782]

Baroness Amos

The equivalent of employment tribunals in Northern Ireland are the industrial tribunals and the Fair Employment Tribunal. There are no commissioners for the tribunals. There is a president and vice-president of the Tribunals appointed by the Lord Chancellor. There are currently five full-time chairmen of the tribunals appointed jointly by the Lord Chancellor and the Department for Employment and Learning. There are currently 13 part-time chairmen of the industrial tribunals appointed by the Department for Employment and Learning. One part-time chairman of the industrial tribunals is also a part-time chairman of the Fair Employment Tribunal appointed by the Lord Chancellor. A list of the names of the president, vice-president, full-time chairmen and part-time chairmen is given below.

The remuneration of the president and vice-president is £119,160 and £110,362 per annum respectively. The remuneration of full-time chairmen is currently £88,546 per annum. Part-time chairmen are paid a daily fee of £386.

Appointments are made through publicly advertised competitions.


  • President
  • Mr J E Maguire, CBE
  • Vice-president
  • Mrs M Percival-Price
  • Full-time Chairmen
  • Mr D D Buchanan
  • Mrs M Davey
  • Mr N P C Drennan, QC
  • Ms E R McBride
  • Mrs P M Smyth
  • Part-time Chairmen (IT)
  • Mr P V Buggy
  • Mrs M R Cooper
  • Miss W A Crooke
  • Mr S M P Cross
  • Mr S A Crothers
  • Mr M C Davey
  • Mrs L A Gilbert
  • Mr B J Greene
  • Mr J V Leonard
  • Miss E M McCaffrey
  • Mr M G O'Brien
  • Mr E T Pakenham
  • Ms M C Sheehan
  • Part-time Chairmen (FET)
  • Mrs M R Cooper