HC Deb 04 November 2003 vol 412 c622W
Bob Russell

To ask the Secretary of State for Defence how many new vessels for the Royal Navy have been approved but not yet launched; how many have been allocated names; arid what names have been selected. [135411]

Mr. Ingram

A total of 12 vessels—three Astute submarines, six Type 45 destroyers and three Bay Class Landing Ship Dock (Auxiliary) (LSD(A))—have passed Main Gate approval but have not yet been launched. All have been allocated names.

The Astute submarines are to be called HMS Astute, HMS Ambush and HMS Artful. The T45s will be called HMS Daring, HMS Dauntless, HMS Diamond, HMS Dragon, HMS Defender and HMS Duncan, and the LSD(A)s RFA Lyme Bay, RFA Mounts Bay and RFA Cardigan Bay.