HC Deb 19 May 2003 vol 405 cc524-5W
Norman Baker

To ask the Secretary of State for Environment, Food and Rural Affairs if she will list(a) the members of the Board of Directors of the Environment Agency and their declared party political affiliations and (b) appointments made to the Board of Directors of the Environment Agency since 1 May 1997 and their declared party political affiliations. [111105]

Mr. Meacher

The current Board members are:

  • Sir John Harman (Chairman)
  • Barbara Young (Chief Executive)
  • Councillor Colin Beandwood
  • Mr. Ted Cantle
  • Mr. Andrew Dare CBE
  • Mr. John Edmonds
  • Professor Richard Macrory CBE
  • Mr. Gerald Manning OBE
  • Professor Peter Matthews
  • Professor Jacqueline McGlade
  • Ms Sara Parkin OBE
  • Professor Donald Ritchie
  • Dr. Lyndon Stanton
  • Mr. Gareth Wardell
  • Professor Lynda Warren

Members of the Environment Agency's Board are required to complete questions in their application form about political activity, and not their political affiliation unless they are politically active. These application forms are held by my Department, and four reflect political activity at the time of appointment. Sir John Harman has declared his affiliation to the Labour Party, but resigned his party political positions after being appointed as Chairman of the Agency's Board. In her application for the post of Chief Executive, which carries with it automatic membership of the Board, Baroness Young listed her position as working Labour peer, but she resigned the Whip upon her appointment. John Edmonds has declared membership of the Labour Party National Policy Forum and Commission, and Councillor Colin Beardwood has declared that he is a member of the Labour Party and serves on Worcestershire County Council and West Midlands Regional Chamber.

Gareth Wardell, who was the Labour MP for Gower until May 1997, was appointed by the then Secretary of State for Wales.

No other Board member who has been appointed since 1 May 1997 has declared any party political activity. The only appointments made to the Board since 1 May 1997, excluding the above, were Mr. Alan Dalton and Mr Chris Hampson, the latter on his appointment as Deputy Chair of the Board. They have completed their appointments and are no longer on the Board.

Consent reference number Consent holder and crop Nearest village, town or parish Grid reference of release site
99/R21/6 Novartis Seeds Ltd Stone, Worcestershire SO 853 748
(now Syngenta) Ramsey, Cambridgeshire TL 293 877
Fodder beet Bradenham, Narfolk TF 933 084
Raynham,Norfolk TF 887 258
Banham, Norfolk TM 072 889
00/R33/6 Aventis CropScience UK Ltd Bramham, North Yorks SE 446 418
(now Bayer CropScience UK Ltd) Shellingford, Oxon SU 306 945
Oilseed rape Thorganby, Lincolnshire TF 192 965
Sand Hutton, North Yorks SE 675 583
Meden Vale, Notts SK 604 706
Felton, Herefordshire SO 561 486
Melbourn, Cambrifgeshire TL 389 428
Piccots End, Hertfordshire TL 049 095
Banham, Norfolk TM 088 883
01/R8/4 IACR Rothamsted Harpenden, Hertfordshire TL 124 136
(now Rothamsted Research) Wheat
01/R29/3 John Innes Centre Barley Colney, Norfolk TG 179 077
02/R4/12 Advanced Technologies (Cambridge) Ltd. Potato Thornhaugh, Peterborough TF 074 009
02/R36/01 IACR-Long Ashton Harpenden, Hertfordshire TL 124 136
(now Rothamsted Research) Wheat
01/R33/11 Aventis CropScience Ltd. Little Bolligton, Cheshire SJ 714 872
(now Bayer CropScience Ltd.) Great Moulton, Norfolk TM 165 902
Oilseed rape Alveston/Loxley, Warks SP 231 535
Farm Scale evaluations Piccotts End, Hertfordshire TL 048 098
Bincombe, Dorset SY 692 841
Narfferton, East Riding of Yorks TA 015 620
Burdon, Tyne and Wear NZ 205 367
Oakenshaw, Durham NZ 205 367
Hinton Waldrist,Oxon SU 379 993
Smarden, Kent TQ 882 397
Throganby, Lincolnshire TF 213 972
Burgh on Bain, Lincolnshire TF 227 876
Bagley, Shropshire SJ 398 268
Kilnwick Percy, East Riding of Yorks SE 841 497
Laxton, East Riding of Yorks SE 792 276
Lowthorpe, East Riding of Yorks TA 087 602

Forward to