HC Deb 13 May 2003 vol 405 cc204-5W
Mr. Beggs

To ask the Secretary of State for Northern Ireland if he will list by(a) name, (b) location and (c) education and library board area those schools that have been closed in each of the last five years. [110570]

Jane Kennedy

A total of eight primary, one special arid one post-primary schools have closed in the past five years. These schools are:

Education and library board area School and location Date of closure
BELB Jaffe Special School, Belfast 23 June 2001
St. Anthony's PS, Willowfield, Belfast 31 August 2001
NEELB Dunamuggy PS, Templepatrick 31 August 1999
Millbrook PS, Larne 31 August 2000
Mosside PS, Ballymoney 31 August 2002
SEELB O'Neill Memorial PS, Crossnacreevy, Belfast 31 August 2002
SELB Star of the Sea PS, Kilkeel 31 August 1998
WELB Cavanacaw PS, Omagh 31 August 2001
Glengorland PS, Donemana, Strabane 31 August 2001
Dungiven HS 31 August 2002

In addition, in this five year period a number of schools have received approval to amalgamate, namely:

Mr. Paul Murphy

Within the Northern Ireland Office during the period 2002–03 no individuals have been seconded from the private sector.

Within the Northern Ireland Administration there were five secondments from the private sector to the Northern Ireland civil service during the period 2002–03. Details are as follows.

Organisation Dates of Secondment
GFW Price Consultancy 10 July 2001-current
Partnership UK 6 January 2003-current
Partnership UK 4 February 2003-current
SERCO 17 February 2003-current
IBM 24 February 2003-current