HC Deb 08 July 2003 vol 408 cc701-2W
Mr. Peter Robinson

To ask the Secretary of State for Defence if he will list the army bases operational in Northern Ireland, broken down by council area. [123704]

Mr. Ingram

The armed forces currently operate from 55 bases in Northern Ireland which are either solely military sites or joint bases with the Police Service of Northern Ireland. Excluded from this list are those premises solely occupied by Reserve Forces and Cadets as well as Regimental Museums. The operational bases are listed by council area as follows:

Antrim Borough Council

  • Aldergrove
  • Masserene Barracks, Antrim

Armagh City and District Council

  • Dramadd Barracks, Armagh
  • PSNI Keady
  • PSNI Middletown

Ballymena Borough Council

  • St. Patrick's Barracks, Ballymena

Banbridge District Council

  • PSNI Rathfriland

Belfast City Council

  • Divis Key Point
  • Duke of Connaughts Unit
  • Girdwood Park Army Base
  • Moscow Camp
  • Musgrave Park Hospital Echelon
  • PSNI Grosvenor Road
  • PSNI New Barnsley
  • PSNI Old Park
  • PSNI Woodbourne
  • Divis Tower Observation Post

Castlereagh Borough Council

  • PSNI Castlereagh
  • PSNI Ladas Drive

Coleraine Borough Council

  • Laurel Hill House, Coleraine

Craigavon Borough Council

  • Mahon Barracks, Portadown

Derry City Council

  • Clooney Base, Londonderry
  • Ebrington Barracks, Londonderry
  • Masonic Base, Londonderry
  • PSNI Rosemount

Down District Council

  • Abercom Barracks, Ballykinlar
  • Ballykinlar Training Base

Dungannon and South Tyrone Borough Council

  • Clougher Army Base
  • Killymeal House, Dungannon
  • Aughnacloy Base

Fermanagh District Council

  • Grosvenor Barracks. Enniskillen
  • PSNI Beleek
  • PSNI Belcoo
  • PSNI Kinawley
  • PSNI Lisnaskea
  • PSNI Newtownbutler
  • PSNI Rosslea

Limavady Borough Council

  • Magilligan Training Camp
  • Shackleton Barracks, Ballykelly

Lisburn City Council

  • Thiepval Barracks, Lisburn

Newry and Mourne District Council

  • Bessbrook Mill
  • PSNI Crossmaglen
  • PSNI Forkhill
  • PSNI Newtownhamilton
  • R12 Observation Site
  • R13a Observation Site
  • R21 Observation Site
  • GIO Observation Site
  • G20 Observation Site
  • G40 Observation Site

North Down Borough Council

  • Kinnegar, Holywood
  • Palace Barracks, Holywood

Omagh District Council

  • Lisanelly Barracks, Omagh
  • St. Lucia Barracks, Omagh

Strabane District Council

  • PSNI Strabane