HC Deb 10 December 2003 vol 415 c467W
Mr. Keetch

To ask the Secretary of State for Defence if he will list the industrial members of the National Defence Industries Council; what the criteria are for their appointment; and if he will make a statement. [141843]

Mr. Ingram

The industry members of the National Defence Industries Council (NDIC) currently areSir Richard Evans: Chairman, Defence Industries Council and Chairman, BAE Systems plc Mr. Andrew Davies: Vice President Defence, Intellect Mr. Martin Jay: President, Society of Maritime Industries Sir David Lees: Chairman, GKN plc Mr. Nick Prest: Chairman, Defence Manufacturers Association Mr. Gordon Page: President, Society British Aerospace Companies Dr. Sally Howes: Secretary, Defence Industries Council Mr. Simon Frost: Chairman, Claverham Group Mr. Alex Dorrian: Chief Executive Officer, Thales Defence Ltd. Mr. Colin Green: President of Defence Aerospace, Rolls-Royce plc Mr. Tony Pryor: Chairman Devonport Management Ltd., and Chief Operating Officer Europe and Africa, Kellogg Brown and Root

The NDIC is the senior body that provides a focus for regular consultation between the Ministry of Defence and industry on questions of defence supply and procurement of mutual concern, and defines areas for joint study.

Appointment to the NDIC is at the discretion of the Secretary of State. The industry membership comprises the senior representatives of the four main trade associations, senior industrialists, representatives of the service sector and representatives of small and medium-sized enterprises, who are invited on an individual basis.

Forward to