HC Deb 21 October 2002 vol 391 cc16-7W
Tom Brake

To ask the Secretary of State for Transport if he will list those ports, sub-divided by type, which do not meet the standards of the Port Marine Safety Code; what assessment his Department has made of those which do not meet this standard and what steps have been taken as a result; what further steps are planned; and if he will place the assessments in the Library. [75009]

Mr. Jamieson

The following competent harbour authorities have not yet demonstrated compliance with the Port Marine Safety Codea) Company ports (4)

  • Eastbourne (Sovereign Harbour)
  • Irvine Harbour Company
  • Porthleven Harbour & Docks Company
  • Port of Mostyn Ltd
b) Local authority ports (8)
  • Argyle and Bute Council (Rothesay)
  • Canterbury District Council (Whitstable)
  • Carmarthenshire County Council (Llanelli)
  • Exeter City Council
  • Isle of Wight Council (Newport)
  • Waveney District Council (Southwold)
  • West Dorset District Council (Bridport)
  • Worthing Borough Council
c) Trust ports (7)
  • Coleraine Harbour Commission
  • Crouch Harbour Authority
  • Looe Harbour Commission
  • Maldon Harbour Improvement Commission
  • Maryport Harbour Commission
  • Mousehole Harbour Commission
  • Sandwich Port & Haven Commission
d) Other (3)
  • Duchy of Cornwall (Isles of Scilly)
  • Environment Agency Wales (River Dee)
  • Broads Authority

We have corresponded or met with the authorities that have not yet fully implemented the Code and we are undertaking an overall review of its implementation, which we hope to complete in the New Year; indications so far are that implementing authorities have achieved a high overall standard. The Code makes it a matter for the port to publish compliance statements.