HC Deb 16 October 2002 vol 390 c870W
Mr. Tom Harris

To ask the Secretary of State for Northern Ireland what decisions he has reached on appointments to the Equality Commission for Northern Ireland. [74939]

Mr. Browne

The reappointment of sixteen of the existing Commissioners, including the Chief Commissioner, Joan Harbison, and the Deputy Chief Commissioner, Bronagh Hinds took effect on 16 August 2002.

The other Commissioners reappointed are:

  • Jeremy Bryson
  • Harry Coll
  • Paul Donaghy
  • Alan Henry
  • John Heron
  • Ann Hope
  • Ruth Lavery
  • Stephen Livingstone
  • Margaret Logue
  • Harry McConnell
  • Robin Mullan
  • Bob Osborne
  • Monica Wilson
  • Noreen Wright

The reappointments are for varying terms of up to three years. In addition, the Secretary of State proposes to advertise for new appointments to the Commission in the next few months. In this way we hope to ensure the optimum balance between continuity and fresh thinking on the Commission as it continues its important task of promoting equality of opportunity.