HC Deb 27 November 2002 vol 395 cc318-9W
Mr. Heald

To ask the Secretary of State for Work and Pensions (1) which local authority areas have been selected to receive additional points in respect of the Jobcentre Plus Job Entry Target set by his Department; what criteria were applied when selecting the areas; whom he consulted in respect of the selection; and if he will make a statement; [82508]

(2) what the criteria are by which additional points are scored in relation to the Jobcentre Plus Job Entry Target scheme; and if he will make a statement; [82511]

(3) what criteria he applied when determining the Jobcentre Plus Job Entry Target points score to be given to each type of priority client; and what guidance has been given to Jobcentre Plus staff on the way in which such clients should be prioritised in relation to (a) other priority client groups and (b) other clients. [82513]

Mr. Nicholas Brown

[holding answer 25 November 2002]: The Jobcentre Plus job entry targets help focus the agency's efforts and resources on helping those people on whom we want to target more support to move from welfare into work. They include lone parents, disabled people and those living in the most disadvantaged areas of the country.

The way in which job entry and additional point scores have been allocated sends clear signals about our priorities to all Jobcentre Plus managers and staff who have been informed about them in writing.

The 60 local authority areas attracting additional job entry point scores are in the table. These local authorities were chosen because they either have the highest unemployment rates or the highest minority ethnic populations. We consulted other Government Departments, the National Employment Panel and key stakeholders in deciding on these criteria.

Local Authorities with highest unemployment rates Local Authorities with highest minority ethnic population
Blaenau Gwent Barnet
Caerphilly Birmingham
Dundee City Bradford
Easington Brent
East Ayrshire Camden
Glasgow City Coventry
Hackney Croydon
Halton Ealing
Hartlepool Enfield
Islington Greenwich
Kingston upon Hull Hammersmith and Fulham
Knowsley Hariney
Liverpool Harrow
Manchester Hillingdon
Merthyr Tydfil Hounslow
Middlesbrough Kensington and Chelsea
Neath Port Talbot Kirklees
Newcastle-upon-Tyne Lambeth
Newham Leeds
North Lanarkshire Leicester City
Nottingham Lewisham
Pembrokeshire Luton
Redcar and Cleveland Merton
Rhondda, Cynon, Taff Redbridge
Salford Sandwell
South Tyneside Sheffield
Southwark Waltham Forest
Sunderland Wandsworth
Tower Hamlets City of Westminster
West Dunbartonshire Wolverhampton