HC Deb 27 November 2002 vol 395 cc360-1W
Mr Liddell-Grainger

To ask the Deputy Prime Minister who the members are of the Committee for English Regions; who funds the Committee; and who is responsible for the Campaign for the English Regions. [82893]

Mr. Leslie

I am not aware of any organisation called the "Committee for English Regions". There is, however, a Regional Affairs Standing Committee and a EU Committee of the Regions. The former is funded by Parliament and its members are.

Name Constituency Party
Candy Atherton Falmouth & Cambourne Labour
Henry Bellingham North West Norfolk Conservative
Karen Buck Regent's Park & Kensington North Labour
Louise Ellman Liverpool Riverside Labour
Nigel Evans Ribble Valley Conservative
Andrew George St Ives Liberal Democrat
Norman Lamb North Norfolk Liberal Democrat
John Mann Bassetlaw Labour
Denis Murphy Wansbeck Labour
Ian Pearson Dudley South Labour
Lawrie Qinn Scarborough & Whitby Labour
Anthony Steen Totnes Conservative
Derek Wyatt Sittingbourne & Sheppey Labour

The Chair is selected from the Chairman's Panel and will vary from meeting to meeting.

The EU Committee of the Regions has 16 full members from England. It is funded by the EU. The full members from England are.

Full Members Region Authority Party
Derek Boden North West Bury (Metropolitan District) Labour
Michael Davey North East Northumberland (County) Labour
The hon. Joan Taylor East Midlands Nottinghamshire (County) Labour
Muriel Barker Yorkshire & Humberside North East Lincolnshire (Unitary) Labour
Albert Bore West Midlands Birmingham (Metropolitan District) Labour
Ken Bodfish QBE South East Brighton & Hove (Unitary) Labour
Dame Sally Powell DBE London Hammersmith and Fulham (London) Labour
Margaret Eaton Yorkshire and Humberside Bradford (Metropolitan District) Conservative
Gordon Keymer South East Tandridge (District) Conservative
Sir Simon Day South West Devon (County) Conservative
The rt hon The Lord East Essex (County) Conservative
Hanningfield DL
The Baroness (Joan) Hanham CBE London Kensington and Chelsea (London) Conservative
Ruth Coleman South West North Wiltshire (District) Liberal Democrat
Lord Tope CBE London Sutton (London) Liberal Democrat
Peter Moore Yorkshire & Humberside Sheffield (Metropolitan District) Liberal Democrat
Milner Whiteman West Midlands Bridgnorth (District) Independent

The Campaign for the English Regions is an independent body, receiving no central Government funding, which aims to secure a commitment to regional government from all political parties.

Forward to