HC Deb 04 November 2002 vol 392 cc16-7W
Mr. Hayes

To ask the Secretary of State for Environment, Food and Rural Affairs if she will list those third countries with which the EU has concluded mutual fisheries agreements; and how much Community money has been granted to each state. [77250]

Mr. Morley

There are currently 20 fisheries agreements in force between the European Community and third countries. These can be classified into three main types:

Reciprocal-where community fishermen obtain rights to fish in the waters of a third country and in return fishermen from the third country have rights to fish in EU waters;

Classical-where the European Union pays for access for EU vessels to fish in the waters of a third country and where skippers pay for licences and in some cases for the amount of fish caught; and

Mixed-a mixture of both the reciprocal and classical.

The table shows the third countries with which the EU has fisheries agreements, the type of agreement and the sum paid by the EU where applicable.

Third Country Agreements
Country Agreement type Annual cost 2002
Angola classical 15,500,000
Cape Verde classical 680,000
Comores classical 350,250
Faroe reciprocal
Gabon classical 1,262,500
Greenland mixed 42,820,000
Guinea Bissau classical 10,000,000
Republic of Guinea classical 2,960,000
Iceland reciprocal
Ivory Coast classical 957,500
Lithuania mixed
Madagascar classical 825,000
Mauritania classical 86,000,000
Mauritius classical 825,000
Norway reciprocal
Poland reciprocal
Russia reciprocal
Sao Tomé e Principe classical 925,000
Senegal classical 16,000,000
Seychelles classical 3,480,000