HC Deb 04 March 2002 vol 381 c68W
Mr. Ancram

To ask the Secretary of State for Foreign and Commonwealth Affairs what information his Department has collated on the make up of the European Union observer teams that will observe the presidential elections in the Republic of Congo in March, broken down by(a) country and (b) role. [39801]

Mr. Straw

The EU Electoral Observation Mission is made up as follows:

18 long-term observers

  • Italy (Four); Belgium and France (Three each); Germany, Spain and Austria (Two each); Ireland and Portugal (One each).

20 short-term observers

  • Spain (Three), Belgium, France, Greece, Ireland, Italy, Portugal, Sweden (Two each); Germany, Netherlands, and Finland (One each), with Austria and Luxembourg providing one reserve each.

A core team of six experts will be present throughout—Head of Mission (Portugal), Deputy Head of Mission (Spain), Media Expert (Italy), Logistics and Security Expert (France), Legal Expert (Spain), and a co-ordinator for the Long Term Experts (France).

Forward to