HC Deb 25 June 2002 vol 387 cc825-6W
Mrs. Curtis-Thomas

To ask the Secretary of State for Education and Skills if she will list the universities, founded before 1992, that will receive a developmental visit from the Quality Assurance Agency for Higher Education. [62457]

Margaret Hodge

[holding answer 18 June 2002]: The relevant institutions are: the universities of Oxford, Durham, Newcastle Upon Tyne, London, Manchester, Liverpool, Leeds, Sheffield, Birmingham, Nottingham, Reading, Southampton, Hull, Exeter, Leicester, Keele, Sussex, York, East Anglia, Essex, Kent at Canterbury, Lancaster, Warwick, Aston, Bath, Bradford, Brunel, City, Loughborough, Salford, Surrey.

This represents all pre-1992 universities other than Bristol and Cambridge. These two universities will be subject to full institutional review in 2002–03.

Under the new quality assurance arrangements to be introduced by the QAA later in 2002, all institutions will be subject to full institutional review. If they are not scheduled for institutional review in 2002–03, they must undergo at least one development visit from the QAA.