HC Deb 17 June 2002 vol 387 cc137-8W
Harry Cohen

To ask the Chancellor of the Exchequer which countries are listed as non co-operating countries and territories under the Financial Action Task Force process; which countries have been identified as not co-operating with the new recommendations to tackle terrorist financing; how he estimates that non-compliance will affect the UK's relationship with such countries; and if he will make a statement. [62326]

Ruth Kelly

The following countries and territories are currently listed as non co-operative in the fight against money laundering: Cook Islands, Dominica. Egypt, Guatemala, Hungary, Indonesia, Israel, Lebanon, Marshall Islands, Myanmar, Nauru, Nigeria, Niue, Philippines, Russia, St. Kitts and Nevis, and St. Vincent and the Grenadines. The list will be reviewed and updated at the forthcoming FATF plenary to be held 18 to 21 June. The FATF has issued a self-assessment questionnaire concerning observance of the eight special recommendations on terrorist financing to both FATF and non-FATF members and will be considering the results at its forthcoming meeting. Countries and territories on the FATF's list have generally worked positively with the FATF to improve their anti money laundering systems and the UK has provided help and support on a bilateral basis to several countries on the list.