HC Deb 11 June 2002 vol 386 cc1125-7W
Mr. Andrew Turner

To ask the Secretary of State for Environment, Food and Rural Affairs what regional organisation her Department has; and if she will list the counties and unitary authorities in each region in(a) 1997 and (b) 2002. [58934]

Mr. Morley

The Department for Environment, Food and Rural Affairs was created in June 2001 from the Ministry of Agriculture, Fisheries and Food and parts of the Department for Environment, Transport and the Regions and the Home Office.

In relation to MAFF in 1997 there were nine regional service centres carrying out work for the Ministry. There were also three regional areas for the State Veterinary Service, and offices in Scotland and Wales. The counties for each of these offices are laid out in the table. The unitary authorities are not included in this table due to the disproportionate cost of providing such information in the requested form.

On 1 April 2001 the regional service centres were dissolved and the Rural Development Service was established with eight regional offices to take forward the (a) value of and (b) number of jobs in the UK inshore fishing industry in each year since 1997. [60158]

Mr. Morley

[holding answer 10 June 2002]: Accurate estimates of the value of jobs in the inshore fishing industry are not available. Vessels under 10 metres in length comprise most of the UK inshore fleet, and Table 1 shows the value of landings made by these vessels for 1997 to 2001. The available data on jobs in the fishing industry cover only numbers of fishermen working on vessels. The information is given in Table 2; information for vessels under 10 metres is available only for England and Wales.

Table 1: Value of landings by the under-10m fleet, 1997–2001
Year Value (£ million)
1997 60.0
1998 69.1
1999 56.0
2000 48.2
2001 50.1


Fisheries Departments in the UK

England Rural Development Programme. Since the creation of DEFRA in June 2001, the Government offices have also carried out work for my Department.

The details of the counties and unitary authorities for the regional offices of the Rural Development Service, the State Veterinary Service and the Government offices in 2002 are set out in the second table.

1997 MAFF regional structure
MAFF regional service centres/counties State Veterinary Service
South West
Devon, Cornwall and the Isles of Scilly West1
Wessex (Bristol)
Somerset, Dorset and Wiltshire
South Mercia (Worcester)
Hereford and Worcester
West Midlands East
South East (Reading)
Greater London, Kent,
East and West Sussex,
Surrey, Hampshire, Berkshire,
Oxfordshire and Buckinghamshire

1997 MAFF regional structure
MAFF regional service centres/counties State Veterinary Service
Anglia (Cambridge) (East)
Hertfordshire, Cambridgeshire, Norfolk, Suffolk, Essex and Bedfordshire
East Midlands (Nottingham)
Lincolnshire, Nottinghamshire, Derbyshire North
North Mercia (Crewe)
Greater Manchester, Cheshire,

2002 DEFRA regional structure
RDS/GO regions Counties Unitary authorities SVS regions
South West Cornwall, and the Isles of Scilly, Devon, Somerset, Dorset, Wiltshire, Gloucestershire Plymouth, Torbay, Poole, Bournemouth, Bristol, South Gloucestershire, Bath and North East Somerset, North Somerset, Swindon West
West Midlands Shropshire, Worcestershire, Warwickshire, Staffordshire—see footnote 1 Herefordshire, Telford and Wrekin, Stoke-on-Trent-see footnote 1. The metropolitan authorities in the West Midlands
East—East of England Norfolk, Suffolk, Essex, Hertfordshire, Bedfordshire, Cambridgeshire Peterborough, Luton, Southend-on-Sea, Thurrock East
South East Oxfordshire, Buckinghamshire, Hampshire, Surrey, Kent, West Sussex, East Sussex East Sussex Isle of Wight, Milton Keynes, Brighton and Hove, Medway, Portsmouth, Southampton, Bracknell Forest, Reading, Slough, West Berkshire, Windsor and Maidenhead, Wokingham
London Greater London
East Midlands Leicestershire, Northamptonshire, Lincolnshire. Derbyshire, Nottinghamshire Leicester, Rutland Derby, Nottingham North1
North East Northumberland, Durham Darlington, Hartlepool, Stockton on Tees, Middlesbrough, Redcar and Cleveland. The Metropolitan authorities in Tyne and Wear
North West Cumbria, Lancashire, Cheshire Blackpool, Blackburn with Darwen, Warrington, Halton. The Metropolitan authorities in Merseyside and in Greater Manchester
Yorkshire and Humber North Yorkshire York, East Riding of Yorkshire, Kingston Upon Hull, North Lincolnshire, North East Lincolnshire. The Metropolitan authorities in South Yorkshire and in West Yorkshire North
Wales Scotland
1Includes Staffordshire and Stoke on Trent