HC Deb 24 January 2002 vol 378 cc1017-20W
Mr. Vaz

To ask the Secretary of State for Culture, Media and Sport if she will list the members she has appointed to public bodies in the last 12 months. [27885]

Tessa Jowell

In the last 12 months, my predecessor, my right hon. Friend the Member for Islington, South and Finsbury (Mr. Smith) and I made 121 public appointments and reappointments to public bodies as detailed. This does not include appointments to bodies sponsored by my Department where my role is to advise on appointments made by my right hon. Friend the Prime Minister or, through him, by Her Majesty the Queen.

Advisory Committee on the Government Art Collection

  • Dr. Richard Dorment

Advisory Committee on Historic Wrecks Sites

  • Dr. Mark Redknap

Alcohol Education and Research Council

  • Professor Ilana Crome
  • Peter Harraway
  • Angela Gaye Pedlow
  • John Bennett
  • Robin Davidson
  • Henry Fairweather
  • William Rae
  • Elizabeth Thom
  • Richard Velleman

Arts Council of England

  • Gerry Robinson
  • Deborah Bull CBE
  • Hilary Strong
  • Anish Kapoor
  • Joanne MacGregor

British Library

  • Lord Eatwell
  • Ian Millar
  • John Ritblat
  • Simon Olswang

Broadcasting Standards Commission

  • Lord Dubs
  • Lady Warner
  • David Boulton
  • Strachan Heppell CB
  • Sally O'Sullivan
  • Kathleen Worrall


  • Sophie Andreae
  • The Community Fund
  • Richard Martineau
  • Elaine Appelbee
  • Paul Cavanagh
  • Lorne MacLeod
  • James Strachan
  • Jeff Carroll

English Heritage

  • Andrew Fane
  • Professor David Cannadine
  • Jane Grenville
  • Leslie Sparks OBE
  • Professor Lola Young OBE

Film Council

  • Tim Bevan
  • Sarah Radcyffe
  • James Lee
  • Professor John Hill
  • Ian Smith

Football Licensing Authority

  • Clive Sherling
  • Kenneth Culley
  • Dr. Judith Fisher
  • Trevor Hobday
  • Professor Jan Wright

Gaming Board for Great Britain

  • Peter Dean CBE
  • Roy Penrose OBE, QPM

Historic Royal Palace

  • General Sir Roger Wheeler
  • Angela Heylin OBE
  • Jane Sharman OBE
  • Dr. Simon Jones LVO

Horserace Betting Levy Appeals Tribunal for England and Wales

  • Brian Waters

Horserace Betting Levy Board

  • Robert Hughes CBE

Horserace Totalisator

  • Lord Lipsey

Horniman Museum

  • Professor Kenneth Gregory

Independent Television Commission

  • Sir Robin Biggam
  • Baroness Janet Whitaker
  • Alistair Balls CB
  • Sir Michael Checkland
  • Chitra Bharucha
  • Dr. Michael Shea CVO

Museum of Science and Industry in Manchester

  • Professor Laurie Wood

National Lottery Commission

  • Harriet Spicer
  • Timothy Hornsby

National Museums and Galleries on Merseyside

  • Christopher Green
  • Professor Gordon McGregor Reid
  • Gillian Reynolds
  • Professor John Tam
  • Earl of Derby
  • Viscountess Mersey


  • Lord David Puttnam CBE
  • Dr. Yvonne Barnett
  • Professor Sir Chris Evans OBE
  • Dame Bridget Ogilvie
  • Yasmin Anwar
  • Graham Ross Russell
  • Francois Matarasso
  • Baroness Genista McIntosh
  • Paul Daniel
  • Professor Janice Kirkpatrick

New Opportunity Fund

  • Baroness Pitkeathley
  • Professor Eric James Bolton CB
  • Barbara Stephens
  • David Carrington
  • Professor John Patmore CBE
  • Dugald Mackie
  • Sian Griffiths
  • Polly Hudson
  • Geoffrey Thompson MBE
  • Jill Barrow
  • Breidge Gadd CBE
  • David Campbell

Public Lending Right Advisory Committee

  • Dr. James Parker

Public Lending Right Registrar

  • Dr. James Parker

Radio Authority

  • Thomas Prag
  • Geraint Talfan Davies

Reviewing Committee on the Export of Works of Art

  • Sir John Guinness CB
  • Johnny Van Haeften

Royal Armouries

  • Ann Green


  • Christopher Llewellyn
  • Eira Davies

Sport England

  • Tessa Sanderson OBE
  • Brigid Simmonds

Treasure Valuation Committee

  • Professor Norman Palmer
  • Thomas Curtis
  • Mary Sinclair
  • Dr. Arthur MacGregor
  • Dr. Jack Ogden

Theatres Trust

  • Sir John Drummond CBE
  • Sir Stephen Waley-Cohen
  • John Muir
  • Martyn Heighton

UK Sport

  • Sir Rodney Walker
  • Tanni Grey-Thompson OBE
  • Zahara Hyde Peters
  • Adrian Metcalfe OBE
  • Gavin Stewart

Yorkshire and Humber Regional Cultural Consortium

  • Clive Leach CBE.