HC Deb 22 April 2002 vol 384 cc53-7W
Tom Brake

To ask the Secretary of State for Transport, Local Government and the Regions if he will list the statutory harbour authorities in the UK broken down by(a) companies, (b) local authorities and (c) trusts; which authorities had completed implementation of the port marine safety code by 31 December 2001; and what steps he is taking to ensure full compliance. [51440]

Mr. Jamieson

To date, the following harbour authorities have told my Department that they have completed implementation of the Port Marine Safety Code:

(a) Company Ports

  • Associated British Ports:
  • Ayr
  • Barrow
  • Barry
  • Cardiff
  • Fleetwood
  • Garston
  • Goole
  • Grimsby
  • Hull
  • Immingham
  • 54W
  • Ipswich
  • King's Lynn
  • Lowestoft
  • Newport (Gwent)
  • Plymouth
  • Port Talbot
  • Silloth
  • Southampton
  • Swansea
  • Teignmouth
  • Troon
  • Whitby
  • Boston
  • Bristol
  • Clydeport
  • Forth Ports Ltd:
  • Dundee
  • Forth
  • Tilbury
  • Hutchison Ports:
  • Felixstowe
  • Harwich International
  • Larne
  • Mersey Docks & Harbour Company:
  • Heysham
  • Liverpool
  • Medway
  • Portland Port
  • Stena Line Ports:
  • Fishguard
  • Folkestone
  • Holyhead
  • Tees and Hartlepool
  • Warrenpoint

(b) Local Authority Ports

  • Aberdeenshire Council:
  • Macduff
  • Anglesey County Council:
  • Amlwch
  • Bristol City Docks
  • Carrick District Council:
  • Truro
  • Cumbria County Council:
  • Workington
  • Fenland District Council:
  • Wisbech
  • Fife Council
  • Hampshire County Council:
  • River Hamble Harbour Authority
  • Moray Council:
  • Buckie
  • Burghead
  • Cullen
  • Findochty
  • Hopeman
  • Portknockie
  • Penwith District Council:
  • Penzance
  • Portsmouth
  • 55W
  • Scarborough Borough Council:
  • Scarborough
  • Whitby
  • Shetland Islands Council:
  • Lerwick
  • Scalloway
  • Sullom Voe
  • South Hams District Council:
  • Salcombe
  • Sunderland
  • Thanet District Council:
  • Broadstairs
  • Margate
  • Ramsgate
  • Torbay Council:
  • Brixham
  • Paignton
  • Torquay
  • Torridge District Council:
  • Bideford
  • West Somerset District Council:
  • Minehead
  • Watchet
  • Weymouth and Portland Borough Council

(c) Trust Ports

  • Aberdeen Harbour Board
  • Belfast Harbour Commission
  • Berwick Harbour Commission
  • Bridlington Pier and Harbour Commission
  • Brightlingsea Harbour Commission
  • Caernarfon Harbour Trust
  • Carlingford Lough Commission
  • Chichester Harbour Conservancy
  • Cromarty Firth Port Authority
  • Dover Harbour Board
  • Falmouth Harbour Commission
  • Fowey Harbour Commissioners
  • Fraserburgh Harbour Commission
  • Gloucester Harbour Trustees
  • Great Yarmouth Port Authority
  • Harwich Haven Authority
  • Inverness Harbour Trust
  • King's Lynn Conservancy Board
  • Lancaster Port Commission
  • Langstone Harbour Board
  • Lerwick Port Authority
  • Londonderry Port
  • Lymington Harbour Commission
  • Milford Haven Port Authority
  • Montrose Port Authority
  • Neath Harbour Commission
  • Newlyn Pier and Harbour Commission
  • 56W
  • Newport (Gwent) Harbour Commission
  • Padstow Harbour Commission
  • Peterhead Bay Authority
  • Peterhead Harbour Trust
  • Poole Harbour Commission
  • Port of London Authority
  • Port of Plymouth
  • Cattewater Harbour Commission
  • Shoreham Port Authority
  • Stornoway Pier and Harbour Commission
  • Teignmouth Harbour Commission
  • Tyne Port Authority
  • Warkworth Harbour Commission
  • Wells Harbour Commission
  • Whitehaven Harbour Commission
  • Wick Harbour Trust
  • Yarmouth (Isle of Wight) Harbour Commission

(d) Other public sector ports

  • British Waterways Board:
  • Caledonian and Crinan canals
  • London Docklands
  • River Ouse
  • Sharpness Docks
  • Environment Agency:
  • Rye Harbour.

My officials are corresponding with, and visiting, a number of harbour authorities that have significant responsibilities for marine safety if they have not reported compliance with the code.

Tom Brake

To ask the Secretary of State for Transport, Local Government and the Regions, pursuant to his answer of 25 March 2002,Official Report, column 671W, on marine and port safety, what subjects were discussed at the two exchanges of correspondence with the acting chairman; and if he will place copies of these exchanges in the Library. [51448]

Mr. Jamieson

The Department has now written on three occasions to the acting Chairman of Humber Pilots Ltd. (HPL), on four subjects—(1) the circumstances in which HPL's contract with Associated British Ports was terminated and the former pilots' authorisations revoked; (2) the requirement in the Port Marine Safety Code for pilotage services to be covered by a contract; (3) the numbers of Humber pilots now and formerly authorised by the competent harbour authority, and their qualifications; (4) the records of incidents kept by the authority and HPL. Letters between the Department and its correspondents are treated in confidence unless the originator chooses to make them public.

Tom Brake

To ask the Secretary of State for Transport, Local Government and the Regions what recent changes there have been in the(a) measurement of and (b) legal duties for the safety of navigation by harbour authorities; and what progress has been made towards implementation of the port marine safety code. [51441]

Mr. Jamieson

There have been no recent changes in the legal duties for the safety of navigation of harbour authorities. The port marine safety code makes clear that the duties and powers that harbour authorities already have are generally sufficient to enable them to maintain proper standards of port marine safety. The Department is undertaking a review during 2002 to assess how far the code has been implemented and what has so far been achieved.

Back to