HC Deb 08 November 2001 vol 374 c350W
Helen Jones

To ask the Secretary of State for Health which health authorities have midwife-led maternity units. [10013]

Jacqui Smith

[holding answer 29 October 2001]: Using a definition of midwife-led units to cover free standing units, separate units co-located with other hospital services and midwife-led areas which are part of a consultant-led unit, the following health authorities have midwife-led units:

Trent Region:

North Derbyshire, Lincolnshire, Leicestershire, South Humber, Nottinghamshire, South Derbyshire, Doncaster, Sheffield and Nottingham.

South Eastern Region:

Berkshire. Buckinghamshire, East Kent, East Surrey, East Sussex, Isle of Wight, Portsmouth and South East Hampshire, North and Mid Hampshire, Northamptonshire, Oxfordshire, Southampton and South West Hampshire

South West Region:

Cornwall and Isles of Scilly, North and East Devon, Dorset,Gloucestershire, Somerset and Wiltshire.

North West Region:

South Lancashire, Morecambe Bay, St. Helens and Knowsley and Salford and Trafford.

Northern and Yorkshire Region:

East Riding and Hull, Northumberland, North Cumbria, Tees and Wakefield (to open February 2002).

West Midland Region:

Shropshire, North Staffordshire, South Staffordshire, Worcestershire Coventry, Birmingham.

Eastern Region:

North Essex health authority and Suffolk health authority.

London Region:

Kensington Chelsea and Westminster, Barking and Havering, Lambeth Southwark and Lewisham, Redbridge and Waltham Forest, Camden and Islington, Barnet Enfield and Haringey, East London and The City, Hillingdon, Bexley, Bromley and Greenwich, Ealing Hammersmith and Hounslow, Merton Sutton and Wandsworth, Brent and Harrow, Kingston and Richmond and Croydon.