HL Deb 09 May 2001 vol 625 c197WA
Baroness Billingham

asked Her Majesty's Government:

What appointments to the Police Complaints Authority have been made since 1 March. [HL2137]

Lord Bassam of Brighton

We have recently appointed Mr Ian Bynoe to the second position of Deputy Chairman of the authority. His appointment is for two years with effect from 1 May 2001.

Ian Bynoe has served as a member of the authority since 1998, both reviewing investigations and disciplinary proceedings and supervising investigations. He comes from a legal background and, prior to joining the authority, he was a self-employed policy researcher and legal trainer.

Also, we have appointed five new full-time members to the Police Complaints Authority. Their appointments will be for three years. The five new members are:

Name Start Date Previous Position
David Petch 5 March 2001 Ministry of Defence, with attachments to Northern Ireland Office and Cabinet Office
Diane Hughes 2 April 2001 Senior Lecturer in law at Manchester University
Deborah Glass 2 April 2001 Chief Executive of the Investment Management Regulatory Organisation
Susan Swindell 2 April 2001 Senior Crown Prosecutor
Lionel Pilkington 2 April 2001 Senior Crown Prosecutor