HL Deb 22 March 2001 vol 623 cc180-1WA
Baroness Anelay of St Johns

asked Her Majesty's Government:

Further to the Written Answer by Lord McIntosh of Haringey on 12 March (WA 74), who are the members of the working group of industry representatives and government officials who have been directed to consider the recommendations in the British Tourist Authority report First Impressions; and by what date will their report be presented to Ministers. [HL1270]

Lord McIntosh of Haringey

Members of the working group set up to determine the priorities and responsibilities for encouraging the implementation of the recommendations in the British Tourist Authority'sFirst Impressions report are as follows:

  • Veronica Palmer, board member of the British Tourist Authority and Director-General, Confederation of Passenger Transport (in the chair)
  • Frances Ackland, Assistant Director, UK Immigration Service
  • Jonathan Edwards, Aviation Directorate, Department of the Environment, Transport and the Regions
  • Sue Garland, Deputy Chief Executive, British Tourist Authority
  • Bill Gibbons, Director, Passenger Shipping Association
  • Alistair Howie, Tourism Division, Department for Culture, Media and Sport
  • Keith Jowett, Chief Executive, Airport Operators Association
  • George Muir, Director-General, Association of Train Operating Companies
  • Brian Summers, Managing Director, Birmingham International Airport
  • Richard Tobias, Chief Executive, British Incoming Tour Operators Association
  • Claudia Webbe, Advisor on Cultural Policy, The Mayoral Office
  • David Whitehead, Director, British Ports Association
  • Roger Wiltshire, Secretary General, British Air Transport Association

The group will report progress to the Minister for Tourism, Film and Broadcasting by March 2002 on the initiatives that have been developed to improve the welcome received by overseas visitors at British ports of entry.