HC Deb 03 July 2001 vol 371 cc116-7W
Jeff Ennis

To ask the Secretary of State for Transport, Local Government and the Regions how many applications for the abolition of parish or town councils he has received from district or unitary authorities in each of the last 10 years; and how many of these applications he has granted. [1142]

Dr. Whitehead

The Local Government Act 1972 contains no provision for the abolition of parish councils. However, this legislation provides for the dissolution of parish councils where the population of a parish falls below 150. Dissolution in such circumstances is carried out by order of the district council. We have no record of any dissolution orders.

The Local Government Act 1992 made provision for the abolition of parishes by the Secretary of State following a recommendation by the Local Government Commission. No parishes were abolished as a consequence of the structural review of local government during 1992–97.

In implementing recommendations made by district councils under Part II of the Local Government and Rating Act 1997 the Secretary of State has abolished five parish councils, all in 1999, as follows: The East Lindsey (Parishes) Order 1999—the common parish council for the three parishes of Saltfleetby All Saints, Saltfleetby St. Clements and Saltfleetby St. Peter was abolished to be replaced by a single new parish and parish council of Saltfleetby. The Mid Sussex (Parishes) Order 1999—the parish councils of Clayton and Keymer were abolished to be replaced by a new single parish council of Hassock,. The Tandridge (Parishes) Order 1999—the parish council of Lingfield and Dormansland was abolished to be replaced by two new parish councils, one for each of the villages. The West Lindsey (Parishes) Order 1999—on the creation of the parish of Brookenby from part of the parish of Stainton le Vale, the parish council of Stainton le Vale was abolished to be replaced by a new parish council of Brookenby and a parish meeting for Stainton le Vale.