HC Deb 08 January 2001 vol 360 cc466-7W
Mr. Field

To ask the Secretary of State for Social Security if he will list those local authorities which do not operate the "do not redirect" scheme for benefit post. [143952]

Angela Eagle

According to information we have received from the Royal Mail, there are currently 50 local authorities who have not joined the "do not redirect" postal service.

The list shows the authorities that have not joined, or contacted their local Royal Mail sales centre to join, the scheme to date. The Royal Mail, in turn, depends on their local sales centres to keep them informed as authorities join up.

We believe that some of these authorities have in place arrangements with their local sorting office which fall outside the national scheme. However, we have no information on which authorities fall into this category.

We are keen to see all local authorities using the "do not redirect" scheme but recognise that the authorities themselves are best placed to take account of their specific needs and local circumstances before deciding when to take it forward.

  • Argyll and Bute
  • Blaenau Gwent
  • Bolsover
  • Bromley
  • Broxbourne
  • Charnwood
  • Chelmsford
  • Dartford
  • Daventry
  • Derby
  • Dumfries and Galloway
  • E. Ayrshire
  • E. Dorset
  • E. Dumbartonshire
  • E. Hertfordshire
  • Ellesmere Port and Neston
  • 467W
  • Exeter
  • Falkirk
  • Fenland
  • Flintshire
  • Gateshead
  • Harborough
  • Inverclyde
  • Isles of Scilly
  • Kettering
  • Maidstone
  • Malvern
  • Mid Devon
  • Mid Suffolk
  • Milton Keynes
  • N. Norfolk
  • N. Somerset
  • N. Warwickshire
  • Newport
  • Norwich
  • NW Leicestershire
  • Perth and Kinross
  • S. Gloucestershire
  • S. Kesteven
  • Scottish Homes
  • Southwark
  • Sutton
  • Swindon
  • Torfaen
  • W. Dumbartonshire
  • W. Somerset
  • Wandsworth
  • Wansbeck
  • Western Isles
  • Weymouth and Portland.