HC Deb 13 February 2001 vol 363 cc119-20W
Mr. Cox

To ask the Minister of Agriculture, Fisheries and Food if he will list the European Union countries in which cattle have been discovered to have BSE, indicating the measures taken to prohibit the import into the United Kingdom of beef products in each case. [146576]

Ms Quin

Belgium, Denmark, France, Germany, Ireland, Italy, Lichtenstein, Luxembourg, Netherlands, Portugal, Spain, Switzerland and the United Kingdom have all reported indigenous cases of BSE.

In line with EU legislation the UK has prohibited the import of beef and beef products from Portugal but has not prohibited imports from any of the other countries listed above. UK consumers are protected regarding products that are imported from any of the other countries listed above by the EU-wide requirement to remove specified risk materials from the food chain.