HC Deb 09 February 2001 vol 362 c718W
Mr. Cox

To ask the Minister of Agriculture, Fisheries and Food from which countries the importation of beef into the UK is prohibited; and if he will make a statement. [148057]


Specific prohibitions on imports of beef from Portugal, South Africa and Swaziland are currently in place because of the disease situations in those countries. Beef may be imported from EU member states other than Portugal in accordance with Community rules. Beef may only be imported into any EU member state from third countries that have been approved by the European Commission and it must come from approved premises in those countries. Those approved third countries which currently have approved establishments are set out in the list shown. Beef cannot be imported into the UK from any third country which is not on this list.

  • Argentina
  • Australia
  • Brazil
  • Botswana
  • Canada
  • Croatia
  • Czech Republic
  • Hungary
  • Malta
  • Namibia
  • New Zealand
  • Paraguay
  • Poland
  • Romania
  • Slovakia
  • Slovenia
  • United States of America
  • Uruguay
  • Switzerland
  • Yugoslavia
  • Zimbabwe.

Forward to