HC Deb 07 February 2001 vol 362 c527W
Mr. Ennis

To ask the Secretary of State for the Environment, Transport and the Regions how many town and parish councils have been abolished by him in each of the last three years; and what the reasons given for their abolition in each case were. [148258]

Ms Beverley Hughes

In implementing recommendations made by district councils under Part II of the Local Government and Rating Act 1997, the Secretary of State has abolished five parish councils, all of which were replaced by alternative parish councils, as followsthe East Lindsey (Parishes) Order 1999—the common parish council for the three parishes of Saltfleetby All Saints, Saltfleetby St. Clements and Saltfleetby St. Peter was abolished to be replaced by a single new parish and parish council of Saltfleetby; the Mid Sussex (Parishes) Order 1999—the parish councils of Clayton and Keymer were abolished to be replaced by a new single parish council of Hassocks; the Tandridge (Parishes) Order 1999—the parish council of Lingfield and Dormansland was abolished to be replaced by two new parish councils, one for each of the villages; and the West Lindsey (Parishes) Order 1999—on the creation of the parish of Brookenby from part of the parish of Stainton le Vale, the parish council of Stainton le Vale was abolished to be replaced by a new parish council of Brookenby and a parish meeting for Stainton le Vale.