HC Deb 04 April 2001 vol 366 c222W
Mr. Luff

To ask the Minister of Agriculture, Fisheries and Food if he will list the countries from which the import and sale of beef is considered unsafe on animal health grounds; and if he will make a statement. [156382]

Ms Quin

[holding answer 30 March 2001]: Specific restrictions on imports of beef from Portugal, France, Netherlands, Republic of Ireland, South Africa, Swaziland and Argentina are currently in place because of the disease situations in those countries. Beef may be imported from other EM member states in accordance with community rules. Beef may only be imported into any EU member state from third countries that have been approved by the European Commission and it must come from approved premises in those countries. Those approved third countries which currently have approved establishments are set out in the table shown. Beef cannot be imported into the UK from any third country which is not on this list.

  • Australia
  • Brazil
  • Botswana
  • Canada
  • Croatia
  • Czech Republic
  • Hungary
  • Malta
  • Namibia
  • New Zealand
  • Paraguay
  • Poland
  • Romania
  • Slovakia
  • United States of America
  • Uruguay
  • Switzerland
  • Yugoslavia
  • Zimbabwe.

Back to
Forward to