HC Deb 04 May 2000 vol 349 c181W
Mr. Lansley

To ask the Prime Minister if he will list the Government's special advisers and their responsibilities. [119982]

The Prime Minister

[holding answer 20 April 2000]I refer the hon. Member to the answer given to the hon. Member for Ribble Valley (Mr. Evans) on 11 November 1999,Official Report, columns 826–28W. Since then, I have appointed Carey Oppenheim, Carl Sobhan and Chris MacShane. Dr. lain Anderson is no longer employed as a special adviser. In addition, ministerial colleagues have appointed the following special advisers: Margaret Ounsley (Chief Whip, House of Lords), Ruth Mackenzie (Secretary of State for Culture, Media and Sport), Andrew Hood (Secretary of State for Defence), David Wilson (Deputy Prime Minister), Michael Williams (Secretary of State for Foreign and Commonwealth Affairs) and Andrew McMenaman (Secretary of State for Wales).

All special advisers are employed under terms and conditions set out in the "Model Contract for Special Advisers", a copy of which is in the Library of the House. Schedule 1, Part 1 of the contract sets out the duties and responsibilities of special advisers.