HL Deb 05 July 2000 vol 614 c141WA
Lord Lamont of Lerwick

asked Her Majesty's Government:

Why Members of Parliament, Members of the Scottish Parliament, Members of the European Parliament and Members of the House of Lords are not allowed to be board members of Transport for London. [HL3095]

Lord Macdonald of Tradeston

The Government White Paper "A Mayor and an Assembly for London" said:

"Board members [of Transport for London] will be drawn from those with a wide range of relevant experience … Transport for London's Board will not include political representatives, whether local or national. It will be the role of the Mayor to provide political and strategic direction. Transport for London will be accountable via the GLA to the London-wide electorate."

Paragraph 4 of Schedule 10 to the Greater London Authority Act 1999 is designed to fulfil this policy.

The House of Lords looked at this provision at Committee stage of the Bill on 1 July when the House discussed amendments put forward by Baroness Miller of Chilthorne Domer and Lord Brabazon (Hansard, cols. 475–478).