HL Deb 10 January 2000 vol 608 cc69-70WA
The Countess of Mar

asked Her Majesty's Government:

Whether they will publish the names of the members of the Independent Panel for the Assessment of Ministry of Defence Research on possible interactions between vaccines and pyridostigmine bromide, together with their current employment and interests. [HL466]

Baroness Symons of Vernham Dean

The Independent Panel on Vaccines Interactions Research is chaired by Professor Donald Davies, Director of Clinical Pharmacology, Imperial College School of Medicine. The other panel members are: Professor J E Banatvala, recently retired from the Department of Virology, St Thomas's Hospital, London; Professor P Beverley, The Edward Jenner Institute for Vaccine Research; Dr J Bird, Burden Neurological Hospital; Dr A Boylston, Molecular Medical Unit, St James's Hospital Leeds; Dr P Fawcett, Department of Clinical Neurophysiology, University of Newcastle; Professor A Grossman, Department of Endocrinology, St Bartholomew's Hospital; Professor Malcolm Hooper, Emeritus Professor of Medicinal Chemistry, University of Sunderland; Dr Ian Kimber, Central Toxicology Laboratories Zeneca Ltd; Dr Norman Jones. Royal British Legion, London; Professor Stafford Lightman, Department of Medicine, Bristol Royal Infirmary; Dr Christopher Martyn, MRC Environmental Epidemiology Unit, Southampton; Dr Elizabeth Communicable Diseases Surveillance Centre, Colindale; Dr David Ray, Centre for Mechanisms of Human Toxicity, University of Leicester; Professor E M Sedgwick, Wessex Neurological Centre, Southampton; Professor A Silman, ARC Epidemiology Research Unit, Manchester University Medical School and Dr Geoffrey Schild, National Institute of Biological Standards and Control (NIBSC).

In order to avoid a conflict of interest, Dr Schild is not present at any discussions on NIBSC participation in the vaccines interactions programme. Professor Hooper and Dr Jones were nominated to the panel by Gulf veterans acting through the Royal British Legion.