HC Deb 29 February 2000 vol 345 cc226-7W
Mrs. Gillan

To ask the Secretary of State for Health (1) if he will publish the relevant interests declared by(a) members of the Appraisal Committee of NICE and (b) specialist advisers appointed in respect of each evaluation commissioned by NICE since its establishment; [109703]

(2) if he will list the names and qualifications of the members of the Appraisal Committee of the National Institute for Clinical Excellence; [109701]

(3) when the specialist advisers who will be called upon to provide evidence to NICE on beta interferon will be appointed; and how many will be appointed. [109702]

Mr. Denham

[holding answer 11 February 2000]: The National Institute for Clinical Excellence, subject to the approval of the Secretary of State, is responsible for deciding the members of their Appraisal Committee. NICE operates in an open and transparent way, and the list of members and interests for the Appraisal Committee will be placed in the Library, or can be found on NICE's website at www.nice.org.uk. NICE will also be publishing the names and interests of its specialist advisers when the appraisal committee has met, and any interests of Appraisal Committee members will also be recorded in the Minutes of the Appraisal Board meetings. The appraisal on beta-interferon is scheduled for August this year. The specialist advisers for beta-interferon will be appointed shortly, and their appointments will be available in the Library or on the NICE website.

The members of the NICE appraisal Committee are:

  • Professor David Barnett
  • Professor Ronald Akehurst
  • Professor Sir Colin Berry
  • Professor Martin Buxby
  • Professor Yvonne Carter
  • Dr. Karl Claxton
  • Professor Duncan Colin-Jones
  • Professor Sarah Cowley
  • Dr. Nicki Cullum
  • Mr. Christopher Evennett
  • Ms Jean Gaffin
  • Dr. Trevor Gibbs
  • Dr. Sheila Gore
  • Mr. John Goulston
  • Professor Philip Home
  • Dr. Terry John
  • Dr. Diane Ketley
  • Mr. Mayur Lakhani
  • Mr. Muntzer Mughal
  • Mr. James Partridge
  • Dr. Linda Patterson
  • Professor Philip Routledge
  • Professor Andrew Stevens
  • Mrs. Sue Gallagher.

Forward to