HC Deb 04 April 2000 vol 347 c385W
Mr. Quinn

To ask the Minister for the Cabinet Office if she will list the Ministers responsible for regulatory reform; and if she will make a statement. [117920]

Marjorie Mowlam

The Ministers for Regulatory Reform in the key regulatory Departments areHM Treasury—Paymaster General (Dawn Primarolo MP) Department of Trade and Industry—Minister of State (Patricia Hewitt MP) Department of the Environment, Transport and the Regions—Parliamentary Under-Secretary of State (Lord Whitty) Department of Health—Parliamentary Under-Secretary of State (Lord Hunt) Home Office—Parliamentary Under-Secretary (Mike O'Brien MP) Ministry of Agriculture, Fisheries and Food—Minister of State (the right hon. Joyce Quin MP) Department for Education and Employment—Parliamentary Under-Secretary of State (Margaret Hodge MP).

Ministers for Regulatory Reform in other regulatory Departments are: Department for Culture, Media and Sport—Parliamentary Under-Secretary of State (Janet Anderson MP) Department for Social Security—Parliamentary Under-Secretary of State (Hugh Bayley MP) Ministry of Defence—Parliamentary Under-Secretary of State (Dr. Lewis Moonie MP) Lord Chancellor's Department—Parliamentary Under-Secretary of State (Jane Kennedy MP).

The Ministers were appointed to drive forward the better regulation agenda throughout Government. They are charged with: removing any regulations which are outdated or burdensome, and; ensuring that any necessary new regulations are introduced at the least cost to business.

On 30 March the Prime Minister and I met Regulatory Reform Ministers at Downing Street to discuss progress.

Forward to