HL Deb 11 November 1999 vol 606 cc229-30WA
Baroness Hilton of Eggardon

asked Her Majesty's Government:

What steps they are taking to ensure co-ordination of their policies affecting rural areas. [HL4683]

Baroness Jay of Paddington

My right honourable friend the Prime Minister has established a new Cabinet Committee on rural affairs. Its membership and terms of reference are as follows. In addition to the members listed, other Ministers will be invited to attend meetings as and when business requires:

  • Ministerial Group on Rural Affairs (MISC 8)
  • Composition
  • Minister for the Cabinet Office (Chair)
  • Secretary of State for the Home Department
  • WA 230
  • Secretary of State for Education and Employment
  • Secretary of State for Health
  • Secretary of State for Culture, Media and Sport
  • Minister of Agriculture, Fisheries and Food
  • Secretary of State for Trade and Industry
  • Chief Secretary, Treasury
  • Minister of State, Department of the Environment, Transport and the Regions
  • Terms of Reference
  • To co-ordinate the Government's policies affecting Rural Areas.