HL Deb 07 May 1999 vol 600 c116WA
Lord Stoddart of Swindon

asked Her Majesty's Government:

Whether they will enumerate the seven chapters of the Acquis Communautaire that are already the subject of enlargement negotiations with the applicant countries and the eight on which negotiations are to open during the German presidency. [HL2250]

Baroness Symons of Vernham Dean:

The enlargement negotiations with Cyprus, the Czech Republic, Estonia, Hungary, Poland and Slovenia began in November 1998 on the following seven chapters of the Acquis Communautaire:

  • Industrial policy
  • —Small and medium-sized undertakings
  • —Science and research
  • —Education and training
  • — Telecommunications and information technologies
  • — Culture and audiovisual policy
  • —Common foreign and security policy.