HC Deb 22 March 1999 vol 328 cc42-3W
Mr. Colvin

To ask the Secretary of State for the Environment, Transport and the Regions if he will list the names of the members of the Advisory Committee on Releases to the Environment, indicating their involvement with(a) the biotech industry and (b) companies with an interest in growing gene crops on a trial basis. [72305]

Mr. Meacher

Members of the Advisory Committee on Releases to the Environment (ACRE) are required openly to declare their interests. These are published in ACRE's annual report, which is available in the House of Commons Library. The current entries are reproduced as follows:

  • Professor John Beringer
    • Professor of Molecular Genetics and Dean of Science, School of Biological Sciences, University of Bristol
    • Member of ACGM
    • Member of the Council of the Natural Environment Research Council
  • Dr. Philip Dale
    • Senior Research Scientist
    • John Innes Centre, Norwich
    • Consultant to EC DGXI and UNIDO
  • Dr. Ian Garner
    • Assistant Director of Research, PPL Therapeutics, Roslin
    • Member of BBSRC's Genes in Developmental Biology Network
  • Professor Alan Gray
    • Head of Furzebrook Research Station, NERC Institute of Terrestrial Ecology
    • Honorary Professor, University of Southampton
  • Ms Julie Hill
    • Programme advisor to Green Alliance
    • Member of the Advisory Committee for the Pesticides Trust, Environmental Law Foundation, and Centre for Ecology and Hydrology and environmental advisory bodies for Shanks and McEwan plc and Southern Electricity.
  • Dr. Julian Kinderlerer
    • Senior Lecturer—Department of Molecular Biology and Biotechnology, University of Sheffield
    • Assistant Director—Institute of Biotechnology Law and Ethics, University of Sheffield
    • Member of ACGM
    • Consultant to UNIDO
  • Mr. John MacLeod
    • Director, National Institute of Agricultural Botany
    • Member, UK Plant Varieties and Seeds Committee
    • Member, Groupe Consultatif International de Recherche sur le Colza
  • Professor Bev Moseley
  • Retired, former Head of Institute Food Research Reading Laboratory
  • Professor David Onions
    • Head of Department of Veterinary Pathology, University of Glasgow
    • Honorary Director of The Leukaemia Research Fund's Human Virus Centre
    • Consultant to Q-One Biotec
    • Advisor to Intervet International BV
  • Professor Nigel Poole
    • External and Regulatory Affairs Manager, Zeneca Plant Science, Bracknell
    • Honorary Professor, University of Aberdeen
    • Honorary Professor, John Moores University
  • Dr. David Robinson
    • Principal Research Scientist, Scottish Crop Research Institute
    • Honorary Lecturer, University of Dundee
    • Member of Genetic Manipulation Safety Committee at Nickerson Seeds' Castleton of Eassie site
  • Dr. Ingrid Williams
    • Principal Scientist
    • Leader of the Insect-Plant Interactions Group, Institute of Arable Crops Research Rothamsted
    • Honorary Research Associate IGER
    • Visiting Professor Estonian University of Agriculture
    • Chairman of International Commission for Plant-Bee Relationships
    • Council Member and Company director of International Bee Research Association
  • Dr. Katherine Venables
    • Senior Lecturer in Epidemiology at Imperial College School of Medicine at the National Heart and Lung Institute.
    • Honorary Consultant Physician at the Royal Brompton Hospital, and Honorary Consultant in Public Health to the Kensington, Chelsea and Westminster Health Authority.