HC Deb 15 June 1999 vol 333 c113W
Mrs. Betty Williams

To ask the Secretary of State for Health if he will list the medium secure units in operation in England and the date when each was commissioned. [87039]

Mr. Hutton

The list shows the number of medium secure units in the National Health Service in England. The date when each was commissioned is not held centrally.

North West

  • Scott Clinic, Rainhill
  • Edenfield Centre, Salford
  • Langdale Unit, Preston
  • Calderstones, Whalley
  • Scott House, Rochdale
  • Auden Unit, Winwick
  • Mary Dendy Unit, Macclesfield

Northern and Yorkshire

  • Hutton Centre (Adult) St. Luke's Hospital, Middlesbrough
  • The Bamburgh Centre (Adult), Newcastle City Health NHS Trust
  • Newton Lodge, Wakefield
  • Humber Centre, Hull


  • Arnold Lodge, Leicester
  • Wathwood Unit, Rotherham


  • Norvic Clinic, Norwich
  • The Larches, Gloucester Centre, Peterborough
  • Broadlands Clinic, Little Plumstead Hospital, Norwich
  • Runwell Hospital, Essex


  • Camlet Lodge, Enfield
  • John Howard, Hackney
  • Three Bridges, Ealing
  • Cane Hill, Coulsdon
  • Bracton Centre, Bexley
  • Denis Hill Unit, Beckenham
  • Shaftesbury Clinic and Longridge Clinic, Tooting

South East

  • Wallingford Clinic, Fairmile Hospital, Oxford
  • Marlborough House, Milton Keynes
  • House 4 Slade Hospital, Oxford
  • Hellingly Hospital, Ashen Hill, Eastbourne and County
  • Ravenswood, Hampshire
  • Maidstone Priority—Trevor Gibbens Unit, West Kent

West Midlands

  • Reaside Clinic, Birmingham
  • The Hatherton Centre, Stafford
  • Janet Shaw Clinic, Birmingham

South West

  • Butler Clinic, Dawlish
  • Fromeside Clinic, Bristol.

Forward to