HC Deb 26 July 1999 vol 336 c148W
Mr. Bercow

To ask the Secretary of State for Foreign and Commonwealth Affairs if he will make a statement on the(a) mandate and (b) composition of the 13 July High Level Group for Kosovo and the Western Balkans. [92828]

Mr. Tony Lloyd

At the Cologne Summit of 20 June, the Heads of State of Canada, France, Germany, Italy, Japan, Russia, the UK and the US directed that the economic reconstruction process be guided by the High Level Steering Group. The first meeting of this group took place on 13 July under the joint chairmanship of Yves Thibault de Silguy of the European Commission and James Wolfensohn of the World Bank, and was attended by Finance Ministers of Canada, France, Germany, Italy, Japan, the UK, the US and Finland, the Managing Director of the IMF, the President of the EIB and the President of the EBRD, the Special Co-ordinator of the Stability Pact for South Eastern Europe, and the Deputy Secretary-General to the UN.