HL Deb 24 February 1999 vol 597 cc121-2WA
Lord Morris of Castle Morris

asked Her Majesty's Government:

Following the Strategic Defence Review, what is the revised Order of Battle for HQ Land Command; and whether a diagram illustrating the revised Order of Battle could be provided. [HL946]

Lord Gilbert

Following the Strategic Defence Review, the Order of Battle for Land Command will be two deployable divisions and four regional divisions. The deployable divisions will be:

1st (United Kingdom) Armoured division based in Germany, consisting of three armoured brigades, 4, 7 and 20;

3rd (United Kingdom) Mechanised Division based in the UK, consisting of three Mechanised Brigades, 1, 12 and 19.

The regional divisions will be:

2 Division consisting of 15 (Northeast), 42 (Northwest), 51 (Highland) and 52 (Lowland) Brigades;

4 Division consisting of London District and 2 (Southeast), 49 (East) and 145 (Home Counties) Brigades;

5 Division consisting of 43 (Wessex), 143 (West Midlands), 107 (Ulster) and 160 (Wales) Brigades;

United Kingdom Support Command (Germany).

There will also be 2 (National Communications) Signal Brigade and nine deployable Brigade-sized formations:

  • 16 Air Assault Brigade;
  • Combat Service Support Group (United Kingdom);
  • 1 Artillery Brigade;
  • 7 Air Defence Brigade;
  • 12 (Air Support) Engineer Brigade;
  • 29 (Corps Support) Engineer Brigade;
  • 1 Signal Brigade;
  • 11 Signal Brigade.

In addition, there will be six overseas detachments:

  • British Army Training Unit Suffield and British Army Training Support Unit Wainwright in Canada;
  • British Army Training Support Unit, Belize;
  • British Army Training and Liaison Staff Kenya in Nairobi;
  • British Gurkhas, Nepal;
  • Brunei Garrison.

I am sending a copy of a diagram illustrating the Order of Battle to my noble friend. Further copies will be available in the Library of the House.