HC Deb 24 February 1999 vol 326 cc299-300W
Mr. Maclean

To ask the Secretary of State for Defence if he will list the awards and commendations which his Department has received over the past five years for good environmental management of its estates and wildlife, indicating the sites so commended. [72736]

Mr. Spellar

The following is the information.Shell Best of Better Britain (1994)—Salisbury Plain Training Area-East-Barn Owl Project. Campaign for the Protection of Rural Wales, Brecknock Branch—Rural Wales Award (1994) in recognition of the groups' contribution to conservation on the ranges at Mynydd Epynt, Sennybridge Training Area. Royal Borough of Kingston Upon Thames—Environmental Pride Awards (1994) Category Environmental Management by Industrial Concern. First place awarded to MOD at Chessington. British Gas Grassroots Action Award (1994)—Foxglove Covert, Catterick Garrison. Hampshire County Council—Countryside Award (1995) Commended for restoration and management of Eelmoor Marsh by grazing with Prezewalski's horses, (in conjunction with Marwell Zoo). Taunton Deane Borough Council—Conservation Commendation (1995) for conversion of stables at Norton Manor (Royal Marines). The Forestry Authority—1996. Centre of Excellence—to Longmoor Army Training Area. Awarded in four Categories, for improving the quality of the landscape, creating benefits for wildlife, providing access for people, and growing timber in environmentally sound ways. Shell Best of Better Britain Commendation (1996)—Foxglove Covert, Catterick Garrison. Britain in Bloom (1998)—Aldershot Garrison won Southern England in Bloom. BTO Commendation (1998) for Constant Effort Site Ringing Station—Foxglove Covert, Catterick Garrison. Forestry Authority Commendation (1996) (Parkwood (Catterick)) for sound management of a renewable resource. English Nature—Site of Special Scientific Interest Manager's Award (1998) to Liz Peace, Chairman of the Farnborough Conservation Group. Sanctuary Award—Judged annually with English Nature, for best conservation project on MOD land. 1998 winner—Bovington Training Area for Longterm heathland and wetland management. 1997 winner—Sennybridge—Disgwlfa Visitor Centre. 1996 winner—Porton Down—management of Chalk Grassland habitat for the benefit of the Stone Curlew population. 1995 winner—DERA Farnborough for use of Prezewalski's Horse to graze the lowland heath. 1994 winner—Royal Naval Air Station, Yeovilton—conservation management of Langport Rifle Range, Breech Wood and Merryfield Airfield. Ford—Environmental Management—Energy Plan (1994) Commendation—Boscombe Down. Northumberland County Council—Trees and Hedgerow Cup Competition (1996). Commendation in the broadleaved woodland category for Grasslees Oakwood and Yardhop Wood—Otterburn AFTC.