HC Deb 14 December 1999 vol 341 c124W
45. Mr. Llwyd

To ask the Parliamentary Secretary, Lord Chancellor's Department how many magistrates courts there were in 1979; what the current figure is; and if he will make a statement. [101263]

Jane Kennedy

There were 435 magistrates courthouses, containing a total of 1,570 courtrooms, at 30 September 1999. There were 516 courthouses containing 1,735 courtrooms in September 1995. There are no earlier figures held centrally. Under the Justices of the Peace Act 1979, the provision of magistrates courthouse accommodation is a matter for the courts committee for the area concerned to determine, in conjunction with the local paying authority.