HC Deb 21 April 1999 vol 329 cc581-2W
Dr. Tonge

To ask the Secretary of State for the Home Department (1) if he will list the medically qualified members of the Animal Procedures Committee over the last 12 years; [80765]

(2) what plans he has to appoint more medically qualified members to the Animal Procedures Committee. [80764]

Mr. George Howarth

We last made new appointments to the Animal Procedures Committee in December 1998 and have no immediate plans to appoint further new members. Under the Animals (Scientific Procedures) Act 1986, members of the Committee can serve for a maximum of two terms, each of up to four years.

The past and present members of the Animal Procedures Committee over the last 12 years who have held a medical qualification are Mr. J. C. Brice,

Mr. George Howarth

Figures for the purity of amphetamines submitted for analysis to the Forensic Science Service in 1997, the last year for which data are available, are given in the Table. The figures have been broken down by type of enforcement agency since the amounts sized in each purity band are readily available only for Customs. Further information can be provided only at disproportionate cost. It should be noted that only a small proportion of drugs seized are submitted for forensic analysis.

Professor B. Bridges, Professor A. D. Dyan, Professor S. M. Jennet, Dr. J. G. G. Ledingham, Professor J. F. Martin, and Professor T. R. E. Pilkington.