HC Deb 29 October 1998 vol 318 cc260-1W
Ms Moran

To ask the Secretary of State for the Environment, Transport and the Regions what resources he will make available to authorities that were reorganised on 1 April 1996, 1997 or 1998 for reorganisation costs incurred by them in 1998–99; and if he will make a statement. [57854]

Ms Armstrong

On 17 July I invited authorities that have been or are to be reorganised on or before 1 April 1998 to submit estimates of the amount of expenditure they expect to incur on transitional costs of reorganisation in 1998–99. On the basis, inter alia, of the information provided by the authorities, I have decided the revised maximum amounts that it would be appropriate to allocate towards such costs in 1998–99. I have given priority to those authorities that reorganised in 1998.

The amounts allocated are as follows:

£000 (rounded)
Authority Supplementarycredit approvals(SCAs)
County Councils
Cambridgeshire County Council 250
Cheshire County Council 2,217
Devon County Council 765
Essex County Council 2,683
Kent County Council 752
Lancashire County Council 1,465
Nottinghamshire County Council 4,534
Shropshire County Council 994
Worcestershire County Council 2,250
£000 (rounded)
Authority Supplementary credit approvals(SCAs)
All Purpose Authorities
Bath and North East Somerset Council 1,280
Blackburn with Darwen Borough Council 3,349
Blackpool Borough Council 3,188
Bournemouth Borough Council 650
Bracknell Forest Borough Council Nil
Brighton and Hove Council 1,407
Bristol City Council 1,268
Darlington Borough Council 1,193
Derby City Council 1,602
The East Riding of Yorkshire Council 4,259
Halton Borough Council 2,832
Hartlepool Borough Council 720
County of Herefordshire District Council 5,155
Kingston-upon-HuIl Council 1,823
Leicester City Council No bid
Luton Borough Council 1,973
Malvern Hills District Council Nil
Medway Council 5,674
Middlesbrough Borough Council 2,284
Milton Keynes Borough Council 2,250
North East Lincolnshire Council 1,853
North Lincolnshire Council 3,288
North Somerset Council 652
Nottingham City Council 3,920
Peterborough City Council 2,061
Plymouth City Council 9,450
Poole Borough Council 1,100
Portsmouth City Council 1,603
Reading Borough Council 3,281
Redcar and Cleveland Council 1,000
Rutland Council 1,065
Slough Borough Council 2,781
Southend on Sea Borough Council 2,690
South Gloucestershire Council 830
Southampton City Council 3,185
Stockton-on-Tees Borough Council 1,646
Stock-on-Trent City Council 1,348
Swindon Borough Council 742
Telford and Wrekin Council 4,143
Thurrock Borough Council 3,067
Torbay Borough Council 6,396
Warrington Borough Council 2,934
West Berkshire Council Nil
The Royal Borough of Windsor andMaidenhead Nil
Wokingham District Council 2,262
York City Council No bid
Total 118,114


Leicester and York City Councils and Bracknell Forest, Malvern Hills, West Berkshire and Windsor and Maidenhead Borough Councils did not submit bids for SCA.