HC Deb 27 November 1998 vol 321 cc37-8W
Mr. Key

To ask the Secretary of State for Foreign and Commonwealth Affairs what are the terms of the agreement he made at the WEU ministerial council in Rome on 16 November to create a European arms agency; if he will list the countries involved; and if he will make a statement. [60979]

Mr. Tony Lloyd

The Rome WEU Council adopted the conclusions of the Western European Armaments Group (WEAG).

The Defence Ministers of WEAG reaffirmed their intention to create a European Armaments Agency (EAA). They agreed that WEAG's recently developed Masterplan should serve as the basis for further development of the EAA.

WEAG membership comprises: Belgium, France, Germany, Greece, Italy, Luxembourg, Netherlands, Portugal, Spain, UK, Iceland, Norway and Turkey.

I have arranged for the conclusions of the WEAG meeting and of the Masterplan to be placed in the library.