HC Deb 18 November 1998 vol 319 cc655-6W
Mr. Gordon Marsden

To ask the Secretary of State for Trade and Industry which coastal resorts receive assistance from(a) the European Regional Development Fund and (b) the European Social Fund. [59840]

Mrs. Roche

The list sets out the UK coastal areas eligible for European Regional Development Funding.

In addition, coastal areas are eligible for a number of EU Community Initiative programmes. In particular, the PESCA Community Initiative, which provides assistance to regions facing difficulties as a result of the decline of the fishing industry, is available in a wide range of coastal areas, including Fleetwood, Lytham St. Anne's and Whitehaven.

All areas in the UK, including coastal resorts, are eligible for European Social Funding.

United Kingdom coastal areas eligible for European Regional Development Funding

Objective 1

  • All coastal resorts in Northern Ireland.
  • All coastal resorts in West and North Scotland (from border with Strathclyde to east of Forres in Grampian, including all islands in that area and Orkney and Shetland).
  • All coastal resorts in Merseyside region of England (North of Southport to the Wirral).

Objective 2

  • West Coast of Scotland (from Strathclyde border with Dumfries and Galloway to Loch Long in Strathclyde).
  • East Coast of Scotland (from Arbroath to Dundee on the Firth of Tay).
  • East Coast of Scotland (from east of Buckhaven in Fife to west of South Queensferry in Lothian, on the Firth of Forth).
  • East Coast of Scotland (Musselburgh area).
  • West Coast of England (Kirkbride to Ulverston in Cumbria).
  • South Coast of England (Devonport-Plymouth area).
  • East Coast of England (Thanet in Kent).
  • East Coast of England (Cleethorpes to the end of the Humber Estuary, south side).
  • East Coast of England (Kingston-upon-Hull area of the Humber Estuary, north side).
  • East Coast of England (East of Alnwick in Northumberland to Cleveland border).
  • South Coast of Wales (Cydwelli in West Glamorgan to West Glamorgan border with Mid Glamorgan).
  • South Coast of Wales (Mid Glamorgan coast, including Porthcawl).
  • South Coast of Wales (West of Barry to South Glamorgan border with Gwent).
  • South Coast of Wales (Gwent Coast).

Objective Sb

  • West Coast of Scotland (from Dumfries and Galloway coast to border with Strathclyde).
  • North Coast of Scotland (from west of Lossiemouth to south of Peterhead).
  • East Coast of Scotland (Borders coast to the English border).
  • West Coast of England (Coastline from east of Watchet in Somerset to Land's End in Cornwall).
  • South Coast of England (from Land's End to Saltash in Cornwall).
  • South Coast of England (Short section of coast east of Salcombe, then east Devon coast to south of Paignton).
  • East Coast of England (Lowestoft area, East Anglia).
  • East Coast of England (Lincolnshire coast from border with E. Anglia to north of Mablethorpe).
  • East Coast of England (Yorkshire coast from Scarborough to Cleveland border).
  • East Coast of England (from East of Alnwick north to the Scottish Border (Berwick upon Tweed)).
  • North and West Coast of Wales (from Gwynedd coast to Milford Haven).
  • South Coast of Wales (from Milford Haven to west of Cydwelli).