HC Deb 26 March 1998 vol 309 cc225-6W
Mr. Burns

To ask the Secretary of State for Defence if he will publish(a) the number of places on each of his Department's non-departmental public bodies, (b) the number of places that are currently unfilled on each non-departmental public body, (c) the total number of members that have resigned since 1 May 1997, (d) the total number that have retired since 1 May 1997, (e) the total number that have not had their contracts renewed since 1 May 1997, (f) the total number that have remained in place since 1 May 1997 and (g) the total number that have been appointed since 1 May 1997. [35280]

Mr. Spellar

[holding answer 19 March 1998]MOD has 17 Non-Departmental Public Bodies; the answers to questions(a) and (b) are as follows:

Number of places on each NDPB (a) Places currently unfilled (b)
Executive NDPBs
Fleet Air Arm Museum 8 1
Royal Naval Museum 11 2
Royal Marines Museum 8 0
Royal Naval Submarine Museum 12 3
National Army Museum 12 1
RAF Museum 111 (plus 2 ex officio)
Oil and Pipelines Agency 2 0
Advisory NDPBs
Advisory Committee on Conscientious Objectors 51
Dartmoor Steering Group and Working Party 1 (plus 13 ex officio) 0
Defence Scientific Advisory Council 1901
Independent Board of Visitors for the Military Corrective Training Centre 10 5
Royal Military College of Science Advisory Council 21 0
National Employer Liaison Committee 14 0
Nuclear Powered Warships Safety Committee 12 0
Nuclear Weapons Safety Committee 12 0
Review Board for Government Contracts 5 0
Royal College of Defence Studies Advisory Board 10 0
1 There is no fixed number for appointments

Regarding questions (c) to (g)

  1. (c)Since 1 May 1997, six members of MOD NDPBs have resigned (this figure excludes the Defence Scientific Advisory Council where details are not held).
  2. (d)Since 1 May 1997 five members have retired.
  3. (e)Since 1 May 1997 there have been no instances of members not having their contracts renewed.
  4. (f)Since 1 May 1997 308 members have remained in place (this figure includes two nominated ex officio Trustees).
  5. (g)Since 1 May 1997 96 members have been appointed (this figure includes some reappointments, two ex officio appointments and one instance of a committee member being promoted to the position of Chairman).

Back to
Forward to