HC Deb 10 June 1998 vol 313 cc558-9W
Mr. Allan

To ask the Secretary of State for Culture, Media and Sport if he will list, for each of the last four years, the departmental inquiries and reviews instigated by Ministers which have been chaired by individuals outside his Department; and in each case if he will give the date of establishment and the name of the chairman. [44360]

Mr. Tom Clarke

The information requested is as follows:

1995 Working Group on University Sports Scholarships. Sir Roger Bannister. October.

1996 National Reading Initiative. Joanna Trollope. October.

1997 Review of Area Museum Councils of England. Tony Pender. CBE. January. Report into IT in Public Libraries. Matthew Evans. February. Film Policy Review. Stewart Till (joint chairman with Right Hon. Tom Clarke, CBE MP) May. Football Task Force. Right Hon. David Mellor. July. England's World Heritage Sites, Tentative List Review. Oliver Pearcey. October. Review of Lyric Theatre in London. Sir Richard Eyre. November.

1998 Working Group on Legal Deposit. Sir Anthony Kenny. January. Report on the Bowes Museum, Barnard Castle Richard Foster. DL. April.

Communications strategy working group members
Charles Allen—Chairman Granada
Judith Anthony Thames Valley Economic Partnership
Colin Browne BBC
Gary Crosley Reid Catering Titles
Sandie Dawe British Tourist Authority
Dereck Dear British Airways
Harvey Elliot Consultant
Jim Graham Border TV
David Harbourne Consultant
Simon Johnson Banque Credit Suisse
Ray Kelly Carat UK
Lyn Lavers Distinctive Publishing
Jeremy Logie British Hospitality Association
Ken McCulloch MHM
Prof. Peter Jones Bournemouth University
Eve Pollard Journalist, English Tourist Board
Ann Scott Ann Scott Associates
Diane Summers Financial Times
Clare Walker Jannus Group
Roy Tutty Department for Culture Media and Sport
Whitehall issues working group members
Ken Robinson—Chairman Tourism Society
Peter Agar Confederation of British Industry
Ailsa Blaire Local Government Association
Colin Clark Horwath and Horwath
Sue Garland British Tourist Authority/English Tourist Board
Barry Goddard Council for Travel and Tourism
Peter Hampson British Resorts Association
Brian Handley Yorkshire Tourist Board
Michael Hirst Joint Hospitality Industry Congress
John Lee Association of Leading Visitor Attractions
Jeremy Logie British Hospitality Association
James Spencer British Holiday and Home Parks Association
Barbara Phillips Department for Culture Media and Sport (observer)