HC Deb 23 July 1998 vol 316 c631W
Mr. Jim Murphy

To ask the Secretary of State for Wales, pursuant to his answer of 17 July 1998,Official Report, column 333, if he will list the names of all Lord-Lieutenants in Wales and the dates each was appointed. [52009]

Mr. Ron Davies

The names of the Lord-Lieutenants in Wales are:

  • Clwyd: Sir William Gladstone Bt., appointed on 6 August 1985.
  • Dyfed: Sir David Mansel Lewis KCVO, appointed on 14 February 1979.
  • Mid Glamorgan: Murray McLaggan, appointed on 1 December 1989.
  • South Glamorgan: Captain Norman Lloyd-Edwards, appointed on 17 August 1990.
  • West Glamorgan: Commodore Robert Hastie CBE RD* RNR, appointed on 10 April 1995.
  • Gwynedd: Meuric Rees CBE, appointed on 31 December 1989.
  • Gwent: Sir Richard Hanbury Tenison KCVO, appointed on 9 June 1979.
  • Powys: Mervyn Bourdillon, appointed on 15 July 1986 (retires August 1998).

Lord-Lieutenants may serve until their 75th birthday.

Forward to