HC Deb 15 January 1998 vol 304 cc268-9W
Mr. McWalter

To ask the Secretary of State for Foreign and Commonwealth Affairs whom the United Kingdom has nominated for the second term of the European Committee of the Regions; and if he will make a statement. [23785]

Mr. Doug Henderson

The following nominations have been forwarded to the Council of Ministers:

Full Members

  • (from English Local Government)
  • George Gill CBE: Gateshead Metropolitan Borough Council
  • John Battye: Oldham Metropolitan Borough Council
  • Pam Warhurst: Calderdale Metropolitan Borough Council
  • Dennis Pettitt: Nottinghamshire County Council
  • Ken Bodfish: Brighton and Hove Unitary Authority
  • Albert Bore: Birmingham City Council
  • Sally Powell: Hammersmith and Fulham London Borough Council
  • Jane Hore: Suffolk County Council
  • Sir Ronald Watson CBE: Sefton Metropolitan Borough Council
  • Lord Bowness CBE DL: Croydon London Borough Council
  • Paul White: Essex County Council
  • Sir Simon Day: Devon County Council
  • Lord Tope CBE: Sutton London Borough Council
  • Dr. James Walsh RD: West Sussex County Council and Arun District Council
  • Ruth Coleman: North Wiltshire District Council
  • Milner Whiteman: Bridgnorth District Council
  • (from Scottish Local Government)
  • Hugh Henry: Renfrewshire Council
  • Ian Stewart Hudghton: Angus Council
  • Christine May: Fife Council
  • Peter James Peacock: Highland Council
  • (from Welsh Local Government)
  • Brian Smith: Torfaen Borough Council
  • Linda Mathews: Merthyr County Borough Council
  • Reg Empey: Belfast City Council
  • Denis Haughey: Cookstown District Council

Alternate Members

  • (from English Local Government)
  • Ian Swithenbank: Northumberland County Council
  • Ruth Henig: Lancashire County Council
  • Keith Billington: Rotheram Borough Council
  • Peter Soulsby: Leicester Unitary Authority
  • Toby Harris: Harringey London Borough Council
  • Sarah McCarthy-Fry: Portsmouth Unitary Authority
  • Diane Bunyan: Bristol Unitary Authority
  • Sue Davies: The Wrekin Unitary Authority
  • David Martin: Sefton Metropolitan Borough Council
  • Margaret Eaton: Bradford City Council
  • Gordon Keymer: Tanbridge District Council
  • Suzie Kemp: Newbury Unitary Authority
  • Keith Whitmore: Manchester City Council
  • Liz Tucker: Hereford and Worcester County Council
  • Ros Scott: Suffolk County Council
  • Peter Moore: Sheffield City Council
  • (from Scottish Local Government)
  • Irene Oldfather: North Ayrshire Council
  • Marcus Humphrey: Aberdeenshire Council
  • Joan Mitchell: Dumfries and Galloway Council
  • Cormick Keenan McChord: Stirling Council
  • (from Welsh Local Government)
  • Doctor John Evans: Caerphilly County Borough Council
  • Eurig Wyn: Gwynedd County Council
  • (from Northern Ireland Local Government)
  • George Savage: Craigavon Borough Council
  • John Fee: Newry and Mourne District Council.

In making these nominations, we have sought, in consultation with local government, to provide a delegation which is appropriately representative of all of the United Kingdom, which provides appropriate expertise, and which takes account of the current political balance within United Kingdom local government.

Forward to