HL Deb 24 February 1998 vol 586 cc86-7WA
Lord Williams of Elvel

asked Her Majesty's Government:

What is the membership of the Civil Justice Council. [HL748]

The Lord Chancellor (Lord Irvine of Lairg):

I have appointed the members of the Civil Justice Council. They are:

  • Chairman: Lord Woolf, Master of the Rolls
  • Vice-Chairman: Sir Richard Scott, Vice-Chancellor
  • Vicki Chapman
  • Stephen Cragg
  • Carlos Dabezies
  • Professor Robert Dingwall
  • District Judge Godfrey Evans
  • David Gladwell
  • Hilary Heilbron QC
  • Lord Justice Henry
  • Henry Hodge OBE
  • Ashley Holmes
  • Peter Jacob
  • Vicky Ling
  • Michael Napier
  • Professor Martin Partington
  • Judge Sessions
  • District Judge Monty Trent
  • Owen Tudor
  • Tim Wallis
  • Ashton West
  • Marlene Winfield

In accordance with the Civil Procedure Act 1997, I have chosen members with a wide range of experience in the civil justice field, including members of the judiciary and the legal professions, civil servants concerned with the administration of the courts, persons with experience in and knowledge of consumer affairs and the lay advice sector, and persons able to represent the interests of particular kinds of litigants. The Council will meet for the first time in March.